Diamond in the Rough

TGIS #3

Posted on: September 14, 2008

So, it’s official, school is in full spring and I feel as though I have so much to do and will never be one top of it. Reality is, I am actually getting alot of things done now, that are no where near being due yet. I like to do that, so that at the end of the semester I can take it easy. And this semester I will really want to do that.

So before I get to my top ten of the week, I wanted to take a minute and write about something I have been thinking about all week. As I mentioned, I got to spend last Saturday with my dad and sister. While I was sitting in breakfast with my dad, he was introducing me to the people he knew, some of whom knew me as a child and that I dont remember now. It’s inevitable, whenever I get introduced to new people who know my dad, they always tell me how amazing or great my dad. Some even ask if he is that way as a father. This time was no exception, except when this lady told me that I had a wonderful man as my father, “but I bet you don’t like to hear that.” At first I didnt think anything of it, but then it struck me as a wierd thing to say. I know she didnt mean it to come out rude or mean at all. Honestly, though nothing can be farther from the truth. I am so proud of the things my dad has accomplished. He became our rock when my mom died. After he remarried, there where times when my stepmom would threaten to leave, and I remember my dad telling me more than once that he would never leave her. As an adult I know understand the reasons she said those things and the reasons he never left her side. He has demonstrated to me, his daughter, that marriage vows mean something…good times and bad. He is always willing to help, if its with in his means. I am pretty sure thats where I get that quality from. He has won awrds from work and the American Cancer Society for his contribution to society. How could I not like to hear these things about my dad. I know there are times when we argue about things, but it will always be that way, I know. So lady, if you ever happen to read this, please know that I will listen to you or anyone talk about how great my father is anyday!

Ok so I had to get that off my chest.

Coming up with my top ten this week was kind of hard. It was one of those weeks where everything just seemed to go wrong and the way to stay away from all of it was to just stay in bed. But this is the reason I started my top ten of the week, so I could focus on the good. So here goes:

In no particular order:

10. I had my mid-year review at work. It was actually very good and I also got to vent some of my frustrations to my boss so he knew where I was coming from. Very prductive meeting.

9. I am almost done reading one of my text books that I have to outline for a midterm. It’s only 165 pages, but it’s really boring material. I cant wait to be done with this assignment. Good news is: I almost am!

8. I bought the Josh Hoge CD on Tuesday. It is amazing

7. I also preordered the new Nicholas Sparks book!

6. I can pick up my birthday card from work which contains two free movie tickets!

5. We had community group this week. It was a lot of fun, even though my team lost at all the games we played.

4. I feel I am safe again.

3. One  of my friends just recently moved to Tampa for grad school. We dont get to talk very often because the program he is in is intense. But I got to talk to him twice this week and when I was really struggling he kept checking in to make sure I was ok.

2. I absolutely loved my nutrition class this week. It was so informative.

1. I think this is the biggest exciting thing for me this week. I figured out my future school plans. Want to know what it is? Well,……ok! I have decided I am going to get my masters degree in Family and Marriage Therapy, and get a graduate certificate in Non-profit management. In order for me to start both in the spring I would have to have everything, including GRE scores in by October 1st. So that isnt going to happen. SO in the spring I am going to take “fun” classes at Valencia. Then in the summer I am going to start work on the certificate, and in the fall begin work on my major. I am extremely excited. I knew it would all work out!

So thats it my top ten of the week. I would love to know what your top moment of the week was. Feel free to share in the comments!

2 Responses to "TGIS #3"

2 free movie tickets is always great!! I was pumped when my Colt’s won today since they lost last week…but a highlight of my week would probably be my date night with Matt 🙂 I love those!

Hey! I love your idea of T.G.I.S.- Since I’m the world’s worst blogger I think that “borrowing” your idea would help me write some more 🙂 My highlight of last week would be my mom had a cardiac cath. and the possible blockage that they saw on the ultrasound was a “false-positive” meaning there is no blockage 🙂 Thanks for being the wonderful you that you are!!

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 3,725 hits
September 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930